DeniseK Logo EC+BC Denise Kilonsky Pic 





 Acupucture Meridians - What are they?



12 Main Meridians

There are twelve main meridians, or invisible channels, throughout the body with Qi or energy flows. Each limb is traversed by six channels, three Yin channels on the inside, and three Yang channels on the outside. Each of the twelve regular channels corresponds to the five Yin organs, the six Yang organs as well as the Pericardium and San Jiao. These are organs that have no anatomical counterpart in Western medicine but also relate to processes in the body. It is also important to remember that organs should not be thought of as being identical with the physical, anatomical organs of the body.

Each meridian is a Yin Yang pair, meaning each Yin organ is paired with its corresponding Yang Organ: the Yin Lung organ, for example, corresponds with the Yang large intestine.

8 Extraordinary Meridians

Within Chinese Medicine , the Eight Extraordinary Meridians represent the body’s deepest level of energetic structuring. These meridians are the first to form in utero, and are carriers of Yuan Qi  – the ancestral energy which corresponds to our genetic inheritance. They function as deep reservoirs from which the twelve main meridians  can be replenished, and into which the latter can drain their excesses.

Dental Meridians

Here is a link to a dental chart that allows interactive associations of the individual teeth. Dental Chart